The Future

Feature photo: The 2013 Shimmy Mob held on May 11. That’s me on the bottom right! Photo courtesy of Allen Finley

I am pleased to finally be writing this first post.

The Saved by the Belly blog (name credit to Joseph Burleson) has been an idea that has been floating around my brain for the past few months. I have wanted a way to both showcase the belly dance scene in Gainesville, Fla. as well as document my own journey as a dancer. This blog is an opportunity that has been provided to me through the Multimedia Writing course I am currently taking at the University of Florida.

This week we hit the ground running.

This blog will document everything belly dance happening in Gainesville through the eyes of a growing dancer. I hope to showcase all studios, teachers, performers, shows and upcoming events in Gainesville.

Looking forward to the near future we’ll be looking at the June Satchel’s Shakedown and the Shambling Shimmies School of Belly Dance. I hope you can join me.

For more information about me, check out my fresh and new About Me page.

If you have any ideas or suggestions for posts, please let me know.

Peace,

Kali

Here’s some Kathak for the road


Leave a comment