Costuming: Makers Fest & June Satchel’s Shakedown

In the past week I’ve performed at two shows. I performed at Makers Fest on Saturday, and the June Satchel’s Shakedown on Tuesday. Both of the costumes I will be featuring today were guided by other dancers in their creation. Both costumes were for group performances.

Makers Fest

I performed with Najmah Nour and Yerania Valencia. The choreography, “Hypatia’s Veil” was written by Najmah.

1043924_10151445009846431_11083473_n
1025709_10200093251674662_1345818616_o1049002_10200093427759064_541476166_o
Photos courtesy of Yerania Valencia.

We meant for the costuming to be simple. All black underneath, with a veil that matched our fans draped on top, a la Ancient Greece. The main aim; do not distract from the fans.

For my costume:

  • Top: I wore a tribal bra I made myself with black brocade fabric and bronze colored chains.
  • Bottoms: I wore black flare yoga pants (three weeks after my order I’m still waiting on my dance flares to come in the mail).
  • Everything else: I wore veil borrowed from Yerania. She purchased the veil here.

June Satchel’s Shakedown

JUNESatch
While I don’t yet have photos of my costume for my tribal solo from Tuesday night, this was my costume for the group piece I was in. I performed with Omega’s Egyptian Style and Technique class. We performed a Sha’abi choreography by Omega.

As for the costume.

  • Top: We wore hooded wrap top.s We bought our tops from L. Rose Designs, my fabric was purple metalskin. Underneath the tops we wore black sports bras.
  • Bottoms: We wore black flare dance pants.
  • Everything else: We wore our hair in two braids, fabric flowers pinned to the left side, silver bangles and silver hoops. We also wore coin scarfs (mine is not pictured as I managed to take it off after the finale).
  • Makeup: We followed this lovely YouTube tutorial 

What’s your favorite costume you wore recently?


Leave a comment