Explaining tribal style

Image
I wish I made money for every time I have had to explain what tribal style is. In all honesty though, I don’t do a very good job; it’s a new, evolving and complicated style. 

Luckily I found this wonderful website that does a pretty decent job.

I’d like to add and modify the definitions slightly, as this article was originally written nearly a decade ago. 

Old School Tribal: In my experience, this is best redefined as gypsy style. While tribal style has its roots in this older style, it is not an outdated style. You can still see gypsy style performed at renaissance faire. This style is performed to live music, with the dancers being musically proficient as well. Internationally acclaimed dancer Zoe Jakes spent her early years dancing in renaissance faire shows. 

 

Tribal Group Improv (TGI): I think this is best redefined as improvisational tribal style (ITS). In my experience in dance, any group improvisational tribal is defined as such, unless it is the trademarked American Tribal Style. 

Tribal Fusion: The definition in this article for tribal fusion is very loose. This is understandable. This article was written when tribal fusion was first appearing on the scene. To me, tribal fusion three important elements: moves, improvisation and costuming.

  • Tribal fusion is a style that takes its foundation of moves from group styles like ATS, and fuse them with smaller elements of other dance styles. 
  • I believe for something to be defined as tribal fusion, it should be improvisational. Observe dancers like Rachel Brice. While I believe tribal fusion can be choreographed, it is best done improvisational.  
  • Tribal fusion costuming is earthy. The style uses dark colors, heavy makeup and ethnic-inspired stylings. 

A NOTE ON FUSION: I believe fusing is a delicate process, and can only be defined by a dancer. An experienced and educated dancer who fuses only does so if they understand the elements they are using. I believe a dancer who fuses defines their fusion based on the origin of their movements. A fusion inspired heavily by ballet would be called ballet fusion (observe dancers like Illan Rivere). Zoe Jakes is the ultimate queen of this (see this fusion of Japenese kabuki).

Tribaret: I feel as though tribaret has become a legitimate fusion. However, I prefer the name glam tribal to describe the fusion of tribal and cabaret styles.  

East Coast Tribal: I feel that this style would be more appropriately named choreographed tribal. 

Combo-based Tribal: I’m not entirely sure what this is, but I think this style may have died off. 

Urban Tribal: Urban tribal is the fusion of hip-hop, modern and tribal fusion belly dance. It is often characterized by performance to modern music. 

Alternative Tribal: This is no longer a commonly used term; the dancers previously defined as alternative tribal now fall under the umbrella of tribal fusion. 

What would you like to add? 


Leave a comment